Video Game Soundtracks I Write To

computer-control-controller-687811 (1)

Video Game music has been a huge part of my creative muse for years. When I’m stuck for ideas, or just need an aid to set the tone for an idea I already have, there are times where a video game soundtrack is the perfect partner to my creative writing process. Though this could also be said for other types of music, video game music has a special spot within the realm of my muse. Here are a few of the video games soundtracks I often find myself writing to:

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

This soundtrack has, at times, been criticized for being “too soft” and “not Zelda enough” within the sphere of the game itself. To be honest, I was one who criticized the soundtrack at first, but now I’m a huge fan of it. It’s one of the soundtracks I love listening to the most while writing. There are slow, peaceful themes, wistful themes, and the epic theme in Hyrule Castle, which has to be one of my favorite tracks from the entire Zelda series. I’ve written pieces to Revali’s Theme, Vah MedohModulga Battle, and the Main Theme. However, Hyrule Castle is a piece of music I’ve written at least 3-4 different pieces to, and I love going to it when I have a work that needs a certain amount of intensity to it. Plus, it always gets me hyped as a Zelda fan.

Detroit: Become Human

There has been criticism around the game’s story as of late, but I have yet to see someone criticize its soundtrack. It just has that futuristic feel to it, and is perfect for writing science fiction. When I hear many of the tracks, I can’t help but think computers, which helps accentuate the story’s main character trio of androids. Each of the three main characters has a theme, which fit to their unique journeys as individual androids. There’s Kara’s Theme, which is sorrowful and beautiful, and Marcus’s theme, which is calm and reflective. My favorite has to be Connor’s Theme, which is calculating, methodical, and fast-paced all in the same track.

Fire Emblem Awakening

I’ve frequented this soundtrack ever since I bought the game 3 or 4 years back. This game’s soundtrack is among of my favorites for its variety and composition. The tracks together paint the picture of fighting a war with comrades, where there’s intense battles, vengeful moments, casually getting to know someone in camp, sorrowful encounters, etc. The soundtrack provides music for a variety of atmospheres, many with a hint of fantasy in them. A stand-out to me is Don’t Speak Her Name, which is one of my all-time favorite tracks in a video game. It portrays sorrowful and bitter vengeance, and only plays in one integral chapter of the game. Some of my other favorites include Id (Purpose), Conquest, Divine Decree (Ablaze), and Chaos (Ablaze).

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

This game is a classic, everything from its gameplay, missions, visuals, and soundtrack. There is a nostalgic, epic feeling when the Dragonborn theme is played. There are also a variety of tracks to choose from in this game, many with a fantasy feel to them. I’ve written many pieces of fantasy-esque poetry to this soundtrack, and none of the songs seem to get old. My favorite track from the game is The Streets of Whiterun, which I’ve written what I consider to be one of my best poems to. It has a wistful feeling to it, as if coming home after many years. Other great tracks from this game include From Past to Present, Ancient Stones, and Out of the Cold.

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time

When it comes to fueling my muse, this soundtrack comes out on top (though Fire Emblem Awakening is a close second). I say this because it’s been fueling my writing for years, ever since I was a young teen of 13-14 listening to it while writing some of my early poetry. This is considered by many as the best game of all time, and I can’t help but agree with them. The soundtrack greatly contributes to the game’s crowning title, but this is the perfect package when it comes to a gaming experience. There are so many tracks to choose from, but some of my favorites include Spirit Temple, Forest Temple, Ice Cavern, Zora’s Domain, and the classic Title Theme.

These are just a few of the video game soundtracks I listen to. I’ll likely make more posts with more tracks I listen to, there are so many great pieces out there to write to. However, these were the ones that came to mind first, and the one I frequent the most often. Do you write to video game music? If so, what tracks? Feel free to let me know in the comments!

bloglovin twitter goodreads

 

 

 

 


One thought on “Video Game Soundtracks I Write To

Leave a comment