My Relationship With My First Novel

blanket-bloom-blooming-545049 (1)

The first time we accomplish any goal is an interesting experience. There is a lot of trial and error, planning, experimentation, and reworking when it comes to creating a piece of writing or art. Because of that, the way we look at our first novels or manuscripts may be different than the relationships that we have with our subsequent projects.

I have a manuscript to my first novel, which is in a physical proof copy format (still being heavily edited, but the major rewrites are finished). Since I’ve solidified most of the novel itself, and as I work towards publication, I’ve started to think on what relationship I have with my first major writing project and how it compares with my other works.

Do I think my novel is perfect? Definitely not. Is it a masterpiece? No. Is it even good? I can’t be sure. Despite that, I’m extremely proud of it.

The pride that comes from my first novel is less about the quality of my craftsmanship and more from the mere feat itself. There are likely thousands of people who tell themselves they are going to write a novel and never do. They get intimidated, tell themselves it’s too much effort, or convince their mind that they are not talented enough to begin the process. No one starts out the best at anything, and skill level shouldn’t be a deterrent to starting to write, but that’s a different story.

I’m glad I’ve taken the time to sit down and write out a novel. I’m glad I took the time to rewrite it and analyze it. This process is still in progress, of course, but the bulk of it is done. The hard part was actually writing the novel, and I’ve done that.

It’s not easy to write a novel, but finishing one is incredibly satisfying. It’s similar to the artist finish a large canvas painting, it’s a great feeling to step back and take a look at it once you’re done.

That’s why my first novel will always be special to me : it was the first step. Everyone has to start somewhere, and the start is always a memorable moment. My future projects will undoubtedly show improvements in my craft when compared to my first major piece, but there’s no replacing that particular work as my first. It’s where I began to learn about the craft, where I began to experiment, where I got to know a setting and characters. The experience gained from that project is irreplaceable.

I understand why some author’s look at their earlier works and cringe. I’ve never been one to do this, however, though I see why others have the sentiment. I see every piece I’ve written as a stepping stone in the journey of my craft. If I didn’t write those things, I wouldn’t be where I am today. If I don’t write what I do today, I won’t see any improvements tomorrow. That’s what makes any first large project worth the time put into it, even if it doesn’t turn out as you plan.

 


Leave a comment