Tips on Getting Used to Feedback

As a writer, there are oftentimes where a work can be extremely personal. Other times, it could be a piece that you worked incredibly hard on and take pride in. Sometimes, some things are for catharsis and are dumped right after they’re written. No matter the motivation for the work or the inspiration for the work itself, there are oftentimes where writers want others to read their creations and get opinions on them.

I’m one of those people who often wishes for feedback, but when I actually get it, I’m too nervous to read it. It’s a love-hate relationship, you’re really curious about what people think, but, at the same time, don’t want to know if it’s truly a bad work in the opinion of another. Here are some tips I’ve gathered from receiving feedback on works myself:

class-close-up-diary-8769 (1)

It’s Okay if They Don’t Like It

I thought I’d get this one out of the way first. It sounds like the end of the world. Something you worked so hard on, and someone hates it?

But, really, it’s okay. Not everyone likes everything. I don’t think it’d be helpful to be rude about communicating a dislike to a work, but it’s done all the time. Some people are harsher than others, others more gentle. It’s a commonality in life. However, just because someone doesn’t like your work doesn’t mean it’s null and void. It doesn’t negate your hard work or your dedication to your passions and craft. One one person not liking it doesn’t mean your work isn’t successful. And it definitely doesn’t mean you should give up on it!

It’s tough to get harsh feedback, especially if you’re putting pieces of yourself out there. However, don’t give up because of it. It’s up to you if you edit your work based on said feedback, but you shouldn’t shelve your project because of it. Stay diligent despite the bumps in the road.

It’s Your Work No Matter What

This is another important thing to remember: it’s your work. You created it, so ultimately, it’s your domain. If it’s yours, then you have the final say in it. Just because someone gives feedback doesn’t mean you have to change your work to suit it. I’ve personally disregarded feedback before, but I’ve also heeded it as well. It’s a balancing act, and deciding whether or not to edit something based on feedback is a risk in and of itself, especially when it comes to plots, characters, and settings. Sometimes it’s easy when there are multiple people saying the same thing. But what if it’s just one or two? Then it becomes more tough to make a decision.

Even so, there’s no pressure to conform to feedback. Sometimes, if you really believe in what you’ve done, then leaving the work be is a risk you might be willing to take. It all depends on how you feel about your project. After all, it’s yours.

Communicate with Your Readers

I think it’s important to have open lines of communication with those who may be giving you feedback on your work. If they are going to speak to you, why not speak back? Make it a conversation and not a one-sided transaction. This could mean asking questions about the feedback to better understand where the reader is coming from. It could also mean asking them what they think about your proposed edits or changes. The list of possibilities is infinite.

However, one thing I personally like to do the most is make notes for my readers. I like to let them know what I was thinking when I wrote the particular piece, or things I’m looking for in feedback. Is it my first time writing this genre? I let them know. Did I have a hard time writing a particular scene? I make a note of it. Is my experience level low with a certain technique? I ask the readers to evaluate my progress. This allows readers to keep this in mind as they reflect on their comments, and tailor their feedback to be more specific and helpful. Also, it add a more personable touch to the process. Instead of only communicating with a work, you’re also communicating with the author and their thought process.

Thank The Reviewer

It’s easier to thank a kind reviewer than it is a harsh or rude one, but gratitude is always beneficial to both parties. Not only is it expressing kindness, it can also give you finality if the feedback didn’t go as you expected. When there’s positive feedback, it’s great to say “Wow! Thank you!”, but the “Thank you” should be extended to others as well. The time was taken to read and review the work, and it helps you get used to communicating with an audience. It also helps the author move past bad experiences with feedback. Saying, “Thank you for your response,” then moving on to the next step helps alleviate some of the stress of finding what to say back.

 

bloglovin twitter goodreads

 


Leave a comment